Stages of Life

Darryl Bachmeier
Mar 20, 2020

Human beings develop and grow in certain stages. At every stage, there are some milestones to achieve and challenges to face. For every stage, natural processes take place and unique changes are seen. Here are the basic stages of the human life cycle from birth to death with the indicators of each of the stages.

Stage 1

This is called conception and birth. At this stage, the prenatal development, nutrition and care define the child’s intellectual and other growth parameters in the future. Structure of cells and physical health are the main concerns. The crucial ingredients that an individual must seek are:


Stage 2

This is called infancy and toddlerhood. At this stage, the needs of learning through role models, parents and family members arise at which the language and movements take place. Safety is the main concern here and almost up to two years of life has sleeping and feeding adjustment and transformation periods.

Imitation Education

Stage 3

There comes the early childhood.Communication improves and the child learns basic skills as a preschool member.The learning further combines with experimentation and trials for doing certain tasks without any help.Guidance is provided all the time and the child knows what to do, how and when.Socialization leads the child to continue seeking help at all stages in learning new adult skills i.e. cycling and driving.They embrace the physical world and formally do the tasks.

Curiosity Purpose finding

Stage 4

Adolescence is next. The changes in the human body and gender identification take the grip. The logical thinking enhances. They further get ideas about how to choose the activities that they can enjoy and how to maintain friendships. They love to see the differences in the life of their own and the opposite gender. The guidance comes from parents as role models. They love to work together as well. They know how to find their place and accept their self.

Exploration Self-discovery

Stage 5

Teenage and early adulthood comes in between. Their accomplishment matters a lot to them. They focus on their performance and they interact in terms of competition and cooperation. This is the time of maturation and they build relationships with intimacy along with career. The primary focus is their physiological needs.

Identity formation

Stage 6

This stage is adulthood. Human beings are involved in social relationships and they gain a lot of attention from other people as they start working as a student, professional and partner at a time. This time is when they have high energy and the choices they make are surrounding their status and position in society.

Dedication Commitment

Stage 7

Middle adulthood knocks on the door. In the late thirties, the stage brings ageing signs and the individual feels the need to take note of what he or she has gained in the life they spent. There are many possibilities for them to recognize the different options that they might choose and get different results. They compare themselves with others and find it hard to feel satisfied. There is a possibility that they again repeat some of the milestones they have already achieved.


Stage 8

Late adulthood is the second last stage. The generation gap even becomes bigger and the focus is on passing all that an individual has to the children and grandchildren. They may feel they are at a place where they always want to be. They have respect, material, and social bonding. They learn to enjoy new activities.

Retirement Passing down your legacy

Stage 9

Death is the last stage. Near-death, everyone tries to feel peaceful and completed. The sense of achievement is the most needed while leaving this world.

Contentment Rest

Point to note:

Experts say that one cannot pass on to next stage mentally unless one achieves the milestones of the stage. Similarly, the conflict sometimes appears and one cannot experience the milestones of the stage because he or she is stuck in the previous stage’s trauma, loss or failure i.e. someone loses a job or met an accident then it is possible that the next stage approaching becomes difficult and self-development stops. It may take some time but it will resolve with a little struggle.


Everyone can relate to the continuity of life and there is no stop for anyone. Understanding and acceptance of these stages, learning the skills that each stage offers maintains the beauty of ageing and living a fruitful life. The age range for each stage differs for everyone based on the maturity level and this is the reason behind leaving it to an individual’s experience. Explore and discover your life stages with grace and excitement.

2020 © Zenbo Services Ltd. All rights reserved.